Upcoming concerts

It is terrific that I am writing to you today to share our performance plans this year. After another long hiatus we are incredibly excited to be planning concerts for Sirius Chamber Ensemble this year. Later in the year, we will return to Picton Music Club to play a selection of chamber music for flute, clarinet, bassoon and piano. And we are also planning an exciting program for later this year featuring female composers, and will share more details in our next newsletter. To all our audience, friends and fellow musicians we hope that you are well and enjoying live performances again. 

Claire Howard Race, Clare Kahn and Ian Sykes.

St Stephen’s Friday Lunchtime concert

Join us next week, at the St Stephen’s Uniting Church Friday Lunchtime Music Series. Ian Sykes (clarinet), Clare Kahn (cello) and Claire Howard Race will play classical chamber works by Fauré, Beethoven, Nino Rota and a new composition by Sydney composer Paul Smith. 


  • Élégie for cello and piano (Op.24) by Gabriel Fauré
  • Dancing High with Margaret Thatcher for solo clarinet by Paul Smith (premiere)
  • Aria and Allegro for clarinet and cello by Ludwig Beethoven 
  • Trio for clarinet, cello and piano by Nino Rota

When: Friday 1 April, 1:10pm

Where: St Stephen’s Uniting Church, 197 Macquarie Street, Sydney

Picton Music Club

Melissa Coleman (flute), Ian Sykes (clarinet), Alison Evans (bassoon) and Claire Howard Race (piano) will perform a selection of chamber music for flute, clarinet, bassoon and piano. 

When: Sunday 11 September. 

Where: Wollondilly Shire Hall, 62-64 Menangel St Picton

10-year Anniversary Concert recordings

If you missed our anniversary concert last year, you can watch the following recordings on our YouTube channel. 

  • Alexander’s elements for flute, clarinet and bassoon by Eve Duncan performed by Melissa Coleman (flute), Ian Sykes (clarinet) and Alison Evans (bassoon) – watch here
  • ‘the wind stirs gently’ by Nigel Butterley performed by Melissa Coleman (flute) and Clare Kahn (cello) – watch here
  • A Summoner Remembers by Paul Smith performed by Taryn Srhoj (soprano), Melissa Coleman (flute), Ian Sykes (clarinet) and Clare Kahn (cello) – watch here

Leave a comment

Filed under Concerts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s